15 Comments
Dec 14, 2023Liked by Gen Dread

If the COP became a virtual conference the fossil fuel interest would lose power and a lot of travel related emissions would be prevented. 100,000 attendee is ALOT of travel for next to nothing benefit.

Expand full comment
author

Very much feel you on this critique of meeting in such large numbers with so many flights and not taking the virtual alternative seriously.

Expand full comment

From your experience covering COP, do you think it makes a difference for leaders and activists to meet each other in person? Does it personalize or humanize the plight of those who are being the most impacted by climate change?

Expand full comment
author

I do genuinely believe that the strength and depth of connections made between activists of multiple generations who would not otherwise likely be working together, and heads of research institutions that are pushing for fossil fuel phase out because they are rooted in, say, health and wellbeing, and policymakers and lead negotiators from the various countries who attend and business people and politicians --- truly all of these people are the kinds of folks you meet at COP --- would not be possible on Zoom. It's unfortunate but so far we haven't figured out the whole "catch someone as they are getting off stage and meet them for 5 minutes and make a connection that might change the trajectory of your work or campaign" capacity of zoom. Plus the emotional strength that is fostered of being in the same space with so many other people who care, that just isn't emulated through a screen, and being able to have meals together or have a drink, etc, that's where a lot of the collaborations are fostered. Plus the negotiators themselves stay up until the wee hours of the night quibbling over word choice, they huddle in rooms together where stuff can be debated at length, it just isn't the same.... Then there's the demonstrations which of course are much more effective as an embodied experience with sound, sight, full body feeling, etc. Lots to say. But I went to COP not to cover it as a journalist, instead I went with my stanford researcher hat on to participate in the inaugural Climate + Health Day that had never before happened at any COP and it was amazing to see the official climate + health declaration get made, and the first climate + health ministerial, and oodles of health events over the entire event, and I presented our work with colleagues to build a global research and action agenda for climate change and mental health with the Wellcome Trust: https://www.connectingclimateminds.org/. Being able to see all the traction for climate and health mitigation and adaptation projects up close did feel me with a lot more optimism than I was possibly expecting to feel.

Expand full comment

My apologies, I've not been on Substack for weeks so I just caught your generous response. Yes, this tracks. Since Covid, we've been having our co-op board meetings on Zoom, and there's often bickering or resentment, but when we met as a group, we all got along much better! That's a very micro example, but it made me think about the humanizing factor of face to face, how it opens space for greater understanding and compassion--whereas we are all aware of how vicious people can be with each other on social media. But the optics of everyone getting on a jet plane to travel to some far off place to discuss the climate, or protest the elites who are discussing the climate.... it's a dilemma. Maybe if there's a track record of face to face meetings, then more can be done online together....

Expand full comment

Thank you for detangling the cost/benefits of in person 🙏🏽 I travelled to Paris COP21 with an indigenous-led Arts Activism project and wrote a daily diary for YES magazine. The phenomenal impact of being with activists - especially indigenous folx from Global South - changed me forever. Love your focus on mental health. This piece leaves me newly inspired to jump back into the fray.

Expand full comment

and could the same effect or results (or lack thereof) come from doing this virtually?

Expand full comment
author

And yet, even with everything that I've said above, we do need to figure out how to move more of these annual gatherings to virtual settings.

Expand full comment
founding
Dec 16, 2023Liked by Gen Dread

I want to share with my Dreadhead community that I met a tech entrepreneur in a breakout session today who wants to hear more about this “climate mental health initiative (we’re) up to” 😊. I presented your 10-10,000 study in that session Britt! I talked about you and how I am an ambassador for Gen Dread.

We have made tentative plans to meet, and it would be my 68th meeting on sustainability. It is so nice when I get that request, rather than me making it.

Among many questions today, I was asked to “describe a moment I knew to take a different action towards a great life but didn’t”. My answer was not taking action to understand what had happened to me psychologically (4 years ago) when the sustainability crisis was dumped on me in professional terms I couldn’t deny, but initially did. I didn’t have the tools to understand my feelings then. I didn’t have you in my life. I didn’t have this community.

Thank you for being at COP28.

And thank you all.

Expand full comment
author

Your ambassadorship means a lot, Sidney, and it's amazing to see the way you're sharing climate psychology and insights from our work with other professionals. Thank you for being here.

Expand full comment
founding

I really appreciate this comment. <3 I’m trying. I have found 2 local support groups this year. One is a gathering of painters, and the other is a climate change book club. ‘Gen Dread’ is always with me. Thank you.

Expand full comment

Sultan Al Jaber, the CEO of the United Arab Emirates' national oil company, is also the leader of the COP 28 negotiations. What on earth did anyone expect could be achieved?

There are many essential industries , such as steelmaking, where fossil fuels are nearly impossible to replace. Carbon capture and storage can't be scaled up enough to make a dent in global emissions.

This outlook that "the world is coming to an end because of climate change!" and "I am losing my grip and my mental health because of climate change!" now designates CAPITALISM as the great evil and designates ever-changing dates rolling forward when the world will end if nothing is done to end the burning of fossil fuels. The climate catastrophists keep having to change their end date.

That should tell you something.

Expand full comment
author

Curious, what dates have you noticed changing?

Expand full comment

Just because they say "transition away" doesn't mean a dam thing. They have all the power to do what's required but they will NEVER EVER do it PERIOD. We are being sacrificed at the alter of golden parachute. The whole COP is nothing but an spectacle sport for the rich.

Expand full comment
author

I like how Michael Poland from the Fossil Fuel Treaty put it in a post-COP campaign email:

"the outcome text is once again littered with loopholes designed to encourage fossil fuel expansion, an entire clause on ‘transition fuels’ (aka gas) and dangerous distractions like carbon capture and storage often used to justify new coal, oil and gas projects...there are loopholes so large you could drive a coal truck through them."

Expand full comment